Walden Farm Syn Free Sauce Review

I’m addicted to Instagram, if you search #slimmingworld you will find so any people on there sharing what they eat, what they buy and little hints and tips.  Over the last few weeks I’ve noticed a good few people putting pictures on there of these sauces that are apparently syn free. Now I don’t know if they are but if you put it into the syn calculator it is so that’s good enough for me. It’s not something I’m going to use everyday so as a treat now and then I’m happy to use it.

Anyway, there’s a few different flavours but the ones I bought are Caramel and Chocolate syrup. 

image

image

Now as far as a review,  I’ve never done one of these before so I apologise if it’s not very helpful, please feel free to ask me anything I’ve missed.

Both of the syrups have sweetner in them and a few flavourings. I have artificial sweetner in my tea and coffee everyday and I know a lot of people who think it tastes disgusting, artificial sweetners are extremely sweet and I think they have quite a distinctive sweetness to them that some people hate (like my mum). I personally like the sweetness, but if you are one of those people who doesn’t like it I would advise you to just buy one to taste first and use very sparingly as the syrups both taste like they should (caramel and chocolate) but they are both very sweet and a little bit sickly. That being said,  once you’ve put them on top of something and you use them as a syrup then that sweet taste isn’t as obvious and you can taste the flavour.

I tried the caramel syrup with a sliced banana and some squirty cream and it was absolutely delicious.  I think it would be lovely on some frozen Greek or natural yoghurt (I think that slight bitterness of the yoghurt would lessen the sweetness of the sauce and be a lovely mix).

Overall, I think these syrups are pretty good.  They’re not something you can have a lot of due to that very sweet flavour, but when you are have a craving for something sweet they do hit the spot and do the job.

If you want to get these syrups then they are available on amazon  (that’s where I got mine from). If anyone else has tried these, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Thanks,

Suilin x

Leave a Reply

